Shane is a strategic communications professional and policy specialist with more than a decade of experience working in federal and provincial politics, print media and industry.
In government, he served as the press secretary to Canada’s Environment Minister and communicated major announcements, including the release of Canada’s 2030 emissions target.

At Queen’s Park, Shane was a communications and policy advisor for the Official Opposition. In this role, Shane provided strategic advice on responding to government bills, regulatory proposals and policy on the environment.

Prior to joining Earnscliffe Strategy Group, Shane was the Senior Director of Sustainability at the Canadian Beverage Association and Director of Communications at the Ontario Waste Management Association where he built up his expertise on recycling systems and the broader move to a more circular economy.

Before working in politics, Shane was a journalist. He covered municipal politics for the St. Catharines Standard, and wrote for a national consumer magazine about real estate investing and market trends.

Shane graduated from Brock University with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and holds a Journalism-Print diploma from Niagara College. He also serves as a director of the board at the Alberta Beverage Container Recycling Corporation.

Shane est un professionnel de la communication stratégique et un spécialiste des politiques avec plus de dix ans d’expérience dans la politique fédérale et provinciale, la presse écrite et l’industrie.

Au gouvernement, il a été l’attaché de presse du ministre de l’Environnement du Canada et a communiqué des annonces importantes, notamment la publication de l’objectif du Canada en matière d’émissions pour 2030.

À Queen’s Park, Shane a été conseiller en communication et en politique pour l’opposition officielle. Dans ce rôle, il fournissait des conseils stratégiques sur les réponses aux projets de loi, aux propositions réglementaires et à la politique environnementale du gouvernement.

Avant de se joindre à Earnscliffe Strategy Group, Shane a été directeur principal de la durabilité à l’Association canadienne des boissons et directeur des communications à la Société ontarienne de gestion des déchets, où il a développé son expertise sur les systèmes de recyclage et le mouvement plus général vers une économie plus circulaire.

Avant de travailler en politique, Shane était journaliste. Il a couvert la politique municipale pour le St Catharines Standard, et a écrit pour un magazine national de consommateurs sur l’investissement immobilier et les tendances du marché.

Shane a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences politiques à l’Université Brock et un diplôme de journalisme-impression au Collège Niagara. Il est également directeur du conseil d’administration de l’Alberta Beverage Container Recycling Corporation.