As a Principal in our Government Relations practice, Shakir brings to Earnscliffe over 10 years of experience in public affairs, politics, and the private sector. Shakir’s knowledge of campaign strategies, government affairs, and political communications has helped his clients navigate complex issues while ensuring their voices are heard by policymakers.

Prior to consulting, Shakir spent time at Queen’s Park advising two Leaders of the Official Opposition. During his time at the Ontario Legislature, he led on priority policy files, including, infrastructure, transportation, municipal affairs and housing. As a policy advisor and scripter during the 2018 provincial campaign, Shakir contributed to crafting the winning Ontario PC election platform.

Shakir began his career on Parliament Hill in the Prime Minister Office (PMO) before becoming a policy advisor to the federal Minister of International Trade. His private sector experience includes serving as Manager of Public Policy at a major telecommunications company.

A sought-after political and public policy commentator, Shakir’s analysis is featured regularly on television, radio and print. He is a weekly panelist on CBC’s Power and Politics, has been featured on CBC’s Metro Morning and The House, and is a regular contributor to The National Post. He also sits on the board of The Empire Club of Canada.

As an advocate for the Black community, Shakir is passionate about mentoring Black youth with an interest in politics and public affairs. He holds two Masters’ degrees from Western University and pursued his Ph.D. in Canada-China relations at Carleton University.

À titre de partenaire pour notre service des Relations gouvernementales, Shakir apporte à Earnscliffe plus de 10 ans d’expérience en affaires publiques, politiques et secteur privé. Les connaissances de Shakir en matière de stratégies de campagne, d’affaires gouvernementales et de communications politiques ont aidé ses clients à s’orienter dans des dossiers complexes et à se faire entendre auprès des décideurs politiques.

Avant de devenir consultant, Shakir a passé du temps à Queen’s Park, où il a conseillé deux chefs de l’opposition officielle. Pendant son séjour à l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, il a dirigé des dossiers politiques prioritaires, notamment dans les domaines de l’infrastructure, du transport, des affaires municipales et du logement. En tant que conseiller en politiques et scripteur pendant la campagne provinciale de 2018, Shakir a contribué à l’élaboration de la plateforme électorale gagnante du Parti conservateur de l’Ontario.

Shakir a débuté sa carrière au Bureau du premier ministre, sur la Colline parlementaire, avant de devenir conseiller en politiques auprès du ministre fédéral du Commerce international. Dans le secteur privé, il a notamment occupé le poste de directeur des politiques publiques dans une grande entreprise de télécommunications.

Commentateur politique et de politique publique très prisé, Shakir présente régulièrement ses analyses à la télévision, à la radio et dans la presse écrite. Il est l’un des panélistes hebdomadaires de l’émission Power and Politics de la CBC. Il a participé aux émissions Metro Morning et The House de la CBC, et contribue régulièrement au National Post. Il siège également au conseil d’administration de l’Empire Club of Canada.

En tant que défenseur de la communauté noire, Shakir agit comme mentor auprès de jeunes Noirs s’intéressant à la politique et aux affaires publiques. Il est titulaire de deux maîtrises de l’Université Western et a poursuivi son doctorat en relations Canada-Chine à l’Université Carleton.