Paul Moen is one of Canada’s leading strategists in the area of government affairs, public policy and communications. A corporate lawyer by background, Paul has advised major corporations, governments and not-for-profits in Canada and around the world. Paul previously held leadership positions in the global pharmaceutical industry, worked in the public sector, and founded an international strategic advisory firm.

Paul has worked in Washington, DC at Amgen, the world’s largest US biotechnology company, where he was Director of Global Government Affairs, supporting both Canada and international expansion into new markets. He also worked in Geneva, Switzerland as a corporate lawyer at Ares-Serono International (now Merck Serono), a leading European pharmaceutical firm, on R&D and commercialization deals and its operations in Asia.

Paul has also served in the public sector as Senior Policy Advisor to Canada’s former Minister of International Trade Jim Peterson on Canada-US trade relations, including high-profile disputes such as softwood lumber and promotion of Canada’s biotechnology industry. He has served as a Department of Justice lawyer on intellectual property issues, and as a researcher at the World Trade Organization to prepare for China’s accession.

A native of Vancouver, BC, Paul holds a degree in political science from the University of British Columbia, a law degree from McGill University and a master’s degree from the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva. He is a member of the Bar of Ontario, a published author, a media commentator and an active local community organizer. Paul lives with his wife and their two children in Ottawa.

Paul Moen est l’un des principaux stratèges de renom au Canada dans les domaines des affaires gouvernementales, des politiques publiques et des communications. Avocat spécialiste du commerce international, il a conseillé de grandes sociétés, des gouvernements et des organismes à but non lucratif au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Paul a auparavant occupé des postes de direction dans l’industrie pharmaceutique mondiale, il a travaillé dans le secteur public et a fondé une société internationale de conseils stratégiques.

Paul a travaillé à Washington, D.C., chez Amgen, la plus grande société de biotechnologie américaine au monde, où il a été directeur des affaires gouvernementales mondiales, soutenant à la fois le Canada et l’expansion internationale vers de nouveaux marchés. Il a aussi travaillé à Genève, en Suisse, en tant qu’avocat pour le compte d’Ares-Serono International (aujourd’hui Merck Serono), un chef de file européen dans le domaine pharmaceutique, sur la R&D et les ententes de commercialisation et sur les opérations en Asie.

Paul a également œuvré dans le secteur public à titre de conseiller de l’ancien ministre du Commerce international du Canada, Jim Peterson, dans le cadre des relations commerciales canado-américaines, notamment dans les dossiers hautement médiatisés comme celui du bois d’œuvre et celui de la valorisation de l’industrie canadienne de la biotechnologie. Il a été avocat au ministère de la Justice pour les questions de propriété intellectuelle et chercheur à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce pour les préparatifs de l’adhésion de la Chine.

Natif de Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique, Paul détient un baccalauréat en sciences politiques de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique, un baccalauréat en droit (LLB) de l’Université McGill et une maîtrise (DES) de l’Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement de Genève. Il est membre du Barreau de l’Ontario, un auteur publié, un commentateur dans les médias et un organisateur communautaire local actif. Paul vit avec sa femme et leurs deux enfants à Ottawa.